Moody’s changes its outlook to negative for Tata Steel

Moody’s Investors Service has confirmed the rating of the family business (CFR) of Tata Steel Ltd Ba2 and changed its outlook to negative from the ratings being revised.

At the same time, Moody’s affirmed B3 CFR of Tata Steel UK Holdings Limited (TSUKH), a wholly owned subsidiary of Tata Steel, and changed its outlook to negative from the revised ratings. Subsequently, Moody’s will withdraw B3 CFR TSUKH for reasons of its own business, the agency said in a press release today.

“Tata Steel’s Ba2 CFR affirmation acknowledges that while the company’s credit profile will deteriorate due to the problems caused by the pandemic, its key financials are likely to recover to levels in line with its rating by the fiscal year ending March 2023,” The agency quotes Kaustub Chaubal, vice president and senior credit director.

“However, Tata Steel’s leverage and coverage will remain weak through fiscal 2023, and the negative outlook indicates a risk of a downgrade if the metals industry and the company’s financial performance do not recover in line with our current expectations,” Chaubal said.

However, its credit metrics are set to improve steadily in fiscal 2022 and 2023, given the relatively strong business profile of Indian operations, as well as brand strength, vertical integration and technological capabilities that will help the company maintain above average profitability.

Moody’s expects steel consumption in India, Tata’s main operating market, to decline by at least 15 percent during fiscal 2021 due to weak demand for cars and manufacturing, even as infrastructure investment rises. India’s economic growth will also remain substantially lower than in the past, with real GDP contracting 3.1 percent in 2020.

A shrinking steel market in India will hurt Tata, but this is partially mitigated by the company’s strong market position and brand strength in the country.

Moody’s expects Tata Steel to use any surplus steel for export. The company’s export shipments rose in the first quarter of fiscal 2021, when domestic demand was weak. Main export destinations: Philippines, Malaysia, Southern Europe, Western Asia and China.

Moody’s expects steel consumption in the euro area to decline by double digits. TSUKH’s credit profile, which reflects Tata Steel’s European operations, will remain weak and slightly improve over the next 12-18 months, especially given challenging industry conditions and continued influx of imports into the European region, which is weighing on steel prices.

In addition, weak plant utilization due to lower steel demand will put additional pressure on TSUKH’s financials, with leverage remaining above 15x for at least the next 18-24 months.

However, TSUKH’s lack of any debt maturity over the next five years provides a significant cushion of liquidity. The company is also in the process of obtaining a five-year € 150 million loan and a € 200 million securitization facility to strengthen its working capital. In addition, support from Tata Steel will be provided, which is reflected in the increase in CFR TSUKH by two steps.

Moody’s views the coronavirus outbreak as a social risk within its Environment, Social Security and Governance (ESG), given the significant public health and safety implications. Today’s action reflects the impact of the magnitude and severity of the shock on Tata Steel, as well as the significant deterioration in credit quality that it caused.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*

Moody’s меняет прогноз на негативный для Tata Steel

Служба Moody’s Investors Service подтвердила рейтинг семейного бизнеса (CFR) Tata Steel Ltd Ba2 и изменила свой прогноз на негативный с рейтингов, находящихся на пересмотре.

В то же время Moody’s подтвердило B3 CFR Tata Steel UK Holdings Limited (TSUKH), дочерней компании Tata Steel, находящейся в полной собственности, и изменило свой прогноз на негативный с пересмотренных рейтингов. Впоследствии Moody’s отзовет B3 CFR TSUKH по причинам собственного бизнеса, сообщило агентство сегодня в пресс-релизе.

«Подтверждение Ba2 CFR компании Tata Steel признает, что, хотя кредитный профиль компании ухудшится из-за проблем, вызванных пандемией, ее ключевые финансовые показатели, вероятно, восстановятся до уровней, соответствующих ее рейтингу, к финансовому году, оканчивающемуся на март 2023 года», Агентство приводит слова Каустуба Чаубала, вице-президента и старшего кредитного директора.

«Однако левередж и охват Tata Steel будут оставаться слабыми до 2023 финансового года, и негативный прогноз указывает на риск снижения рейтинга, если металлургическая отрасль и финансовые показатели компании не восстановятся в соответствии с нашими текущими ожиданиями», — сказал Чаубал.

Тем не менее, его кредитные показатели будут неуклонно улучшаться в 2022 и 2023 финансовых годах, учитывая относительно сильный бизнес-профиль индийских операций, а также силу бренда, вертикальную интеграцию и технологические возможности, которые помогут компании поддерживать доходность выше среднего.

Moody’s ожидает, что потребление стали в Индии, которая является основным операционным рынком Tata, сократится как минимум на 15 процентов в течение 2021 финансового года из-за слабого спроса на автомобили и производство, даже несмотря на рост инвестиций в инфраструктуру. Экономический рост Индии также останется существенно ниже, чем в прошлом, а реальный ВВП в 2020 году сократится на 3,1 процента.

Сокращение рынка стали в Индии повредит Tata, но это частично смягчается сильной позицией компании на рынке и прочностью бренда в стране.

Moody’s ожидает, что Tata Steel будет использовать любые излишки стали для экспорта. Экспортные поставки компании выросли в первом квартале 2021 финансового года, когда внутренний спрос был слабым. Основные направления экспорта: Филиппины, Малайзия, Южная Европа, Западная Азия и Китай.

Moody’s ожидает, что потребление стали в еврозоне будет снижаться двузначным числом. Кредитный профиль TSUKH, который отражает европейские операции Tata Steel, останется слабым, и в ближайшие 12-18 месяцев ожидается незначительное улучшение, особенно с учетом сложных условий в отрасли и продолжающегося притока импорта в европейский регион, что оказывает давление на цены на сталь.

Кроме того, слабые уровни использования завода из-за снижения спроса на сталь будут оказывать дополнительное давление на финансовые показатели TSUKH, при этом левередж останется выше 15x в течение по крайней мере следующих 18-24 месяцев.

Тем не менее, отсутствие каких-либо сроков погашения долга у TSUKH в течение следующих пяти лет обеспечивает значительный запас ликвидности. Компания также находится в процессе получения пятилетнего кредита на 150 миллионов евро и средства секьюритизации на 200 миллионов евро для укрепления своего оборотного капитала. Кроме того, будет оказана поддержка со стороны Tata Steel, что отражено в повышении CFR TSUKH на две ступени.

Moody’s рассматривает вспышку коронавируса как социальный риск в рамках своей среды, социальной защиты и управления (ESG), учитывая существенные последствия для общественного здравоохранения и безопасности. Сегодняшние действия отражают влияние широты и серьезности шока на Tata Steel, а также значительное ухудшение кредитного качества, которое оно вызвало. 

Добавить комментарий

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован.

Вы можете использовать эти <abbr title="язык разметки гипертекста">HTML</ abbr> теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*